Author Topic: Prefab Help  (Read 6440 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Hersh

  • Elvin Legion
  • *****
  • Posts: 413
  • Reputation: +0/-0
Prefab Help
« on: December 2, 2002 12:02 AM GMT »
Hey Particle, I was wondering if you could help me. I made my first prefab, its a pool. But, the problem is I don't know how to get it in Tribes, as a Dis that I can spawn.  eViL tried to explain it to me, something about registering it, but we didnt get very far. Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,
Hersh
« Last Edit: January 1, 1970 12:00 AM GMT by Hersh »

I kissed a drunk girl on the lips.
This post, by its very length, defends itself against the risk of being read.

Particle

  • Chief Codemonger
  • Administrator
  • Centurian Lord
  • **********
  • Posts: 5,892
  • Reputation: +20/-4
    • Particle's Custom RPG
Re: Prefab Help
« Reply #1 on: December 2, 2002 12:03 AM GMT »
Long process and it's late.  I'll explain later.
« Last Edit: January 1, 1970 12:00 AM GMT by Particle »
The last clear was 3,063 days ago as of February 15, 2013.  That is over eight years ago, folks; not that such things are incredible selling points anymore.

Light from our sun has been to all three stars in the Centauri system since, passed Barnard's star years ago, whizzed by Wolf 359 last July, and passed Lalande a month or so ago.  We'll be heading by Sirius this year on April 28.

Skippy

  • Goblin Pup
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Reputation: +0/-0
Re: Prefab Help
« Reply #2 on: December 2, 2002 12:15 AM GMT »
...While we're on the topic of prefabs, do you know if Worldcraft supports 3ds/Rhino3D or any other sort of file from a modeller?

...If it does, I could make models, if you wanted...
« Last Edit: January 1, 1970 12:00 AM GMT by Skippy »

Hersh

  • Elvin Legion
  • *****
  • Posts: 413
  • Reputation: +0/-0
Re: Prefab Help
« Reply #3 on: December 3, 2002 02:50 AM GMT »
Np, I probably wouldn't want to type out something long either.
 ::)

Hersh
« Last Edit: January 1, 1970 12:00 AM GMT by Hersh »

I kissed a drunk girl on the lips.
This post, by its very length, defends itself against the risk of being read.

Anonymous

  • Goblin Pup
  • *
  • Posts: 0
  • Reputation: +0/-0
Re: Prefab Help
« Reply #4 on: December 3, 2002 08:05 AM GMT »
I'll try and explain this one. First you have to get your prefab into a .vol file. If you havnt done that yet, then this isn't going to work. But after you have created a .vol, go to http://www.planetstarsiege.com/blueprints then go to downloads, then download registeruserobjects.cs in the download section. Once you have done that, put that file in your tribes base folder. Now, open up that file and edit it, type in missionregdis(myvol, myshape);
myvol = the .vol file your shape is in and myshape = the shape in that .vol. Also put your .vol files into your tribes base directory. But if this doesn't work. Dox made a decent tutorial on http://www.planetstarsiege.com/blueprints. Just click on tutorials and read up on it.

And skippy, you can put Rhino shapes into Worlcraft but you would have to find a program to convert the files first.
« Last Edit: January 1, 1970 12:00 AM GMT by Anonymous »

Hersh

  • Elvin Legion
  • *****
  • Posts: 413
  • Reputation: +0/-0
Re: Prefab Help
« Reply #5 on: December 4, 2002 05:20 AM GMT »
Sorry, But your link seems to be broke.

Hersh
« Last Edit: January 1, 1970 12:00 AM GMT by Hersh »

I kissed a drunk girl on the lips.
This post, by its very length, defends itself against the risk of being read.

Anonymous

  • Goblin Pup
  • *
  • Posts: 0
  • Reputation: +0/-0
Re: Prefab Help
« Reply #6 on: December 4, 2002 09:46 PM GMT »
Ahh my bad.. Heres the link http://www.planettribes.com/blueprint/
Heh guess i added a s to it:/
« Last Edit: January 1, 1970 12:00 AM GMT by Anonymous »

Hersh

  • Elvin Legion
  • *****
  • Posts: 413
  • Reputation: +0/-0
Re: Prefab Help
« Reply #7 on: December 8, 2002 07:40 PM GMT »
Thank you Coal that website did help alot. But I'm still having problems.

I got all the tribes tools and WC tool I needed, and I put them in a folder. Export my WC shape to map. and make a batch file with these lines.

Quote
mapconverter Pool.map Pool2.map
map2zvl Pool2.map Pool.zvl
zedshape Pool.zvl -h
vmerge Pool.vol Pool.div

And I end up with Pool.map, Pool.vol, Pool.div and Pool.zvl . Then I put the Pool.vol in my Tribes\Base directory.
 
Then I add this line to registeruserobjects.cs
Quote
missionRegDis(pool, Pool);

Then in the map .mis file I put
Quote
           instant SimVolume "Pool" {
 Ã‚                 fileName = "Pool.vol";
 Ã‚           };


I go into the map editor (for that map) and push F3 go to pool and click on Pool then Tribes crashes. I am running map eidtor in base Tribes mod. Got any ideas of what I'm doing wrong? And what are the Pool.div and Pool.zvl for?

Hersh
« Last Edit: January 1, 1970 12:00 AM GMT by Hersh »

I kissed a drunk girl on the lips.
This post, by its very length, defends itself against the risk of being read.

Anonymous

  • Goblin Pup
  • *
  • Posts: 0
  • Reputation: +0/-0
Re: Prefab Help
« Reply #8 on: December 8, 2002 08:12 PM GMT »
You might be using custom textures on you shape. If thats the case, youll need to download a program called Wally. Heres the link =
http://www.telefragged.com/wally/

Go to that link, click on the link "Downloads" then download the Wally Wad Viewing Program thing.

Now once you get that downloaded, install it. When you open it up, open the location of the .wad you are using for Worldcraft. Open it up, and you'll get a table of textures that are in that .wad. Now choose the textures you used on your shape *.vol* and export them to a .bmp file.

 After that, youll need the program Visual VT which i do not have a link for *if you cant find it i can e-mail it to you*

Once you get Visual Vt, open it up. Select the .bmps you got out of the .wad and add them to the .vol list. once you add them, create your .vol.

Now that you have your .vol of textures, insert them into you RegisterUserObjects.cs. Load the game, and add in the textures befor you add in you shape.

If this doesn't work, then i will shoot myself for the waste of time;) But i think this is it.
« Last Edit: January 1, 1970 12:00 AM GMT by Anonymous »

Hersh

  • Elvin Legion
  • *****
  • Posts: 413
  • Reputation: +0/-0
Re: Prefab Help
« Reply #9 on: December 9, 2002 06:19 PM GMT »
No need for self destruction here.  ;D

I got one of my things in, although it wasnt my pool. But, I think i know whats wrong. Thank you Coal for taking the time to help me out with this, I apreciate your patience.
Although, if I was to make another object with custom textures, could I include those textures in the same .vol as the shape file?

Hersh
« Last Edit: January 1, 1970 12:00 AM GMT by Hersh »

I kissed a drunk girl on the lips.
This post, by its very length, defends itself against the risk of being read.

Anonymous

  • Goblin Pup
  • *
  • Posts: 0
  • Reputation: +0/-0
Re: Prefab Help
« Reply #10 on: December 9, 2002 07:54 PM GMT »
No problem man, glad to be of some use.  Yea you can add the .bmps to the .vol. Just depends on how you want it done i guess.

Ahh i also forgot to add to the last post, But the Tribes engin cannot handle shapes with over 12 sides, so if you have, say a polygon with 14 sides, tribes will just shut down. So makesure you make all round things with 12 sides or less.
« Last Edit: January 1, 1970 12:00 AM GMT by Anonymous »

 

With Quick-Reply you can write a post when viewing a topic without loading a new page. You can still use bulletin board code and smileys as you would in a normal post.

Warning: this topic has not been posted in for at least 120 days.
Unless you're sure you want to reply, please consider starting a new topic.

Name: Email:
Verification:
Type the letters shown in the picture
Listen to the letters / Request another image
Type the letters shown in the picture:
Tribes RPG / PCRPG is a modification of the game "Starseige: _______".  (Just the word that goes in the blank):
A rectangle whose sides are all the same length is known most commonly as which shape?:
What color is the daytime sky?: