Author Topic: Tribes 1.40  (Read 4264 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Bovidi

  • Undead Hero
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
  • Reputation: +1/-0
    • http://www.geocities.com/mygamepage101/orc
Tribes 1.40
« on: October 12, 2010 10:36 PM GMT »
So I don't know how many people really care about Tribes 1.40 anymore, especially because there is only the beta release drifting around and not any final version of Tribes 1.40.

Anyways I would just like to point out that I have converted the Tribes RPG mod over to be able to be supported by the Tribes 1.40.

If anyone is interested the RPG mod portion can be found here: (It is up to you to find Tribes 1.40 beta release somewhere)
http://code.google.com/p/tribes140rpg/downloads/list

There are a few additional shapes that can be used now, bats, horses, dogs, windmill, new tree, and one way walls (Dogs, horses and bats are playable through costume items like dogcostume, batcostume, etc).  As well as some objects with conflicting names in regular RPG have been renamed so they don't conflict.

Anyways doubt many people will care anymore, but just though I would get this out there

~Bovidi

KoRo

  • Fat, Emo Robot
  • Centurian Lord
  • ********
  • Posts: 3,415
  • Reputation: +14/-6
Re: Tribes 1.40
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2010 09:56 PM GMT »
Didn't know there was a Tribes 1.4. What is it?

Bovidi

  • Undead Hero
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
  • Reputation: +1/-0
    • http://www.geocities.com/mygamepage101/orc
Re: Tribes 1.40
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2010 07:21 PM GMT »
Well it is important to note it is Tribes 1.40....1.4 was a previous update.

Tribes 1.40 basically allows pngs instead of bmps, zips instead of vol, more objects situated in a small area without the server crashing/going to pieces, and a few new scripting capabilities.

For example you can now actually intercept functions like echo, Gamebase::setPosition, and other stuff so you can add functionality to them/change their arguments prior to actually the function running.

KoRo

  • Fat, Emo Robot
  • Centurian Lord
  • ********
  • Posts: 3,415
  • Reputation: +14/-6
Re: Tribes 1.40
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2010 01:05 AM GMT »
I take it it wasn't an official release?

Bovidi

  • Undead Hero
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
  • Reputation: +1/-0
    • http://www.geocities.com/mygamepage101/orc
Re: Tribes 1.40
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2010 09:31 AM GMT »
Well the leaked beta isn't actually an official release, but GarageGames (the IP owners of Starsiege Tribes) was the one who had developed it...unfortunately they basically put the 1.40 release on hold because they have other interests in mind...which is why one of the beta testers leaked the beta.

Bovidi

  • Undead Hero
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
  • Reputation: +1/-0
    • http://www.geocities.com/mygamepage101/orc
Re: Tribes 1.40
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2010 11:54 PM GMT »
Thought I would post some screenshots of this.

KoRo

  • Fat, Emo Robot
  • Centurian Lord
  • ********
  • Posts: 3,415
  • Reputation: +14/-6
Re: Tribes 1.40
« Reply #6 on: October 29, 2010 04:54 PM GMT »
That looks sick. How come everyone isn't playing 1.4? lol

funger

  • Orc Thrasher
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
  • Reputation: +1/-1
Re: Tribes 1.40
« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2010 05:34 PM GMT »
i wanna wear a tree costume

Bovidi

  • Undead Hero
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
  • Reputation: +1/-0
    • http://www.geocities.com/mygamepage101/orc
Re: Tribes 1.40
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2011 08:15 PM GMT »
So just as a note, I am going to at least try to keep adding to the 1.40 release I did of RPG.  For now my brother and I are working on objects, such as a new fountain.  One thing though is we suck at making "pretty" looking objects (dts and dis), mostly we are horrible at buildings (which is why there was only 1 in the last release).  So if anyone knows how to make dis' and dts' and would want an item added into the RPG mod please contact me.

~Bovidi

rjm003

  • Gnoll Fighter
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Reputation: +1/-2
Re: Tribes 1.40
« Reply #9 on: January 19, 2011 09:16 AM GMT »
Cool fountian bovidi! Are you animating the mesh or the texture map?

Bovidi

  • Undead Hero
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
  • Reputation: +1/-0
    • http://www.geocities.com/mygamepage101/orc
Re: Tribes 1.40
« Reply #10 on: January 19, 2011 07:33 PM GMT »
Using the .ifl files in max, with translucent png files stretched over a simple curved plain.

Bovidi

  • Undead Hero
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
  • Reputation: +1/-0
    • http://www.geocities.com/mygamepage101/orc
Re: Tribes 1.40
« Reply #11 on: January 22, 2011 03:05 AM GMT »
Ok, so just as a little bonus I have added a video on youtube to showcase the mod.  Just as a note the video recorder is the cause of the video lag (not the Tribes 1.40 mod).  Not all the things shown have been made public yet, such as the fire.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kFEUTNbN3TE

 

With Quick-Reply you can write a post when viewing a topic without loading a new page. You can still use bulletin board code and smileys as you would in a normal post.

Warning: this topic has not been posted in for at least 120 days.
Unless you're sure you want to reply, please consider starting a new topic.

Name: Email:
Verification:
Type the letters shown in the picture
Listen to the letters / Request another image
Type the letters shown in the picture:
Tribes RPG / PCRPG is a modification of the game "Starseige: _______".  (Just the word that goes in the blank):
Do what you want 'cuz a pirate is free.  You are a pirate.  What are you?:
What color is the night sky?: