Author Topic: Updating RPG  (Read 12429 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Bovidi

  • Undead Hero
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
  • Reputation: +1/-0
    • http://www.geocities.com/mygamepage101/orc
Updating RPG
« on: August 24, 2011 02:04 pm CDT »
Ok so there has been talk in the other threads (Good ol' days) about updating the Tribes RPG.  Since we really haven't gotten anywhere I thought a different approach is needed to get any progress on it.

So I created a new google code project:
http://code.google.com/p/tribes111rpg/

If anyone wants to help out reply to this thread (or email me, if you know my email)

In the next couple days I will do some initial updates to svn to get the project started.  In general the project will be about creating a generic RPG, and it will be up to the server-owners to do the modifications which make it unique.  The thing is we will be adding additional tools to make things more powerful, here are a few ideas which already have code for them just need to be converted back from 1.40 to 1.11:

-Server allowed sending center/top/bottom prints with an extended character limit
-Exploit fixes (btw email me if you know any, I have gotten most of the most harmful ones covered but I am not good at crash exploits)
-New character models (Dragon, horse, manned-horse, bat)
-New buildings (Windmill, with working windmill blades)

Future updates:
-More buildings/objects (Any contributions would be nice, please be your own works or else I need to know the origin of the files...just to cover myself from future troubles)
-More character models (I need help with this, if you know how to use 3dsmax and want to try creating a character contact me...I can give you the max files that Walk and I used for the dragon as there are a few things you have to do)
-More maps (Maps can be a pain, but maybe a few new worlds would be nice)
-Custom gui's mainly to add a new feature, such as inventory (yes I am stuck on that issue, I built a pretty stable version in 1.40 of an inventory that supported virtual items)
-*If possible make a 1.40 compatible version, so you can play with better stability in windowed mode*


So again anyone with experience with scripting, tribes modeling, gui development, or general enthusiasm (testers) is welcome to join, just reply or email me.  For scripters and modellers if I know who you are, I can add you as a contributor to the project so you can have write access.  If you want to just submit a few files pm me or something and I will pm you my email.  For anyone who wants to be administrators of it, contact me as well.

Particle it would be nice if we could get your support of this update as well.


JayJay

  • Elvin Legion
  • *****
  • Posts: 586
  • Reputation: +2/-1
Re: Updating RPG
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2011 07:15 pm CDT »
Sup Bovidi, maybe TRPG could move to an entirely new engine? http://www.crydev.net/

JayJay

  • Elvin Legion
  • *****
  • Posts: 586
  • Reputation: +2/-1
Re: Updating RPG
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2011 07:24 pm CDT »
I wouldnt mind being a project manager since I barely know any code at all, but I can definitely sketch some new models, map layout, etc. by hand/photoshop.

Bovidi

  • Undead Hero
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
  • Reputation: +1/-0
    • http://www.geocities.com/mygamepage101/orc
Re: Updating RPG
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2011 12:15 am CDT »
I a intending to stick to tribes, I am accustom to the physics of it.

As for project manager, I need them to help me with managing the scripting and creating/importing the models.  But if you are willing to help I can definitely set you up with as one of the contributes of the project for the sketching and stuff.

-edit
Just as an fyi, I have added everything to the svn already and wrote a few patches for the major exploits. (As well as added a few new character models + wrote some AI code so dragons and bats can be spawned).  So feel free to check it out, it is under source code for now so it is at (http://tribes111rpg.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/) just use svn to download it.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2011 01:58 am CDT by Bovidi »

Bovidi

  • Undead Hero
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
  • Reputation: +1/-0
    • http://www.geocities.com/mygamepage101/orc
Re: Updating RPG
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2011 06:31 pm CDT »
While I have been experimenting recently, I came a nice fact that I would like to get all of your opinion on.

If the update moves to an LH 1.30 compatible mode, will people actually get last hope.  The reason I ask is 1.11 is limited to 1 million before it looses number (1000001 = 1e+06), while something in last hope changes that number to (1000000000000001 = 1e+15) which is a lot more accurate than the old tribes model, this will mean that players won't loose coins as they buy and sell items and health can be calculated more precisely.

So here are the three choices:
1) Stick with 1.11 (Server remains the same in the 1e+06 truncating error)
2) Go with LH 1.30 (Clients will need to update their exe file, but you get 1e+15 before the truncating error occurs)
3) Stick with 1.11 and someone helps me rewrite 1.11 using the LH 1.30 new data (best of both worlds but I might need help with this, as there would be a lot of changes in assembly)

Bovidi

  • Undead Hero
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
  • Reputation: +1/-0
    • http://www.geocities.com/mygamepage101/orc
Re: Updating RPG
« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2011 11:31 pm CDT »
Just as a general update, I have been keeping the svn up to date with the newest tribes code (http://tribes111rpg.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/)...look up Tortoise SVN if you want to download it all in one go.
It would be nice if someone else (who knows about tribes code) were to try this out and say what they think.

Anyways here is what I have completed or currently have "in progress":
New menu type of system, end user things look the same, but everything is more secure and allows for easier menu making

String::newgetsubstring has been changed a bit to make it insanely more efficient for shorter string (same efficiency for 50000+ character strings)

INVENTORY SYSTEM has been remade, it uses a hybrid of my 1.40 gui and 1.11 inventory gui + it allows for virtual items, 25+ item inventories, 999999+ item limits.

Virtual items have been added, and I have created functions that should be called instead of the tribes functions, these will monitor the items so virtual items are handled the same as real items.  As a note this makes getaccessorylist more efficient.

I added a few new features like no damage zones, no fly zones.  Also there is dragons in this version, as well as items that let you ride a horse (yes you can ride a horse in this)...same ones from 1.40 (see the other topic about 1.40 for pictures...I think I posted them there).

Added a method that lets the server send roughly 2000 characters for messages, so #w won't clip, or the stats page will actually be able to show your full stats instead of cutting it off

To many to count bug fixes.

bungle

  • Undead Hero
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
  • Reputation: +13/-6
Re: Updating RPG
« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2011 11:22 am CDT »
wow.
"If you dont like it, go play kirby air ride."

mega

  • Goblin Pup
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Reputation: +0/-0
Re: Updating RPG
« Reply #7 on: October 15, 2011 08:41 am CDT »
Sup Bovidi, maybe TRPG could move to an entirely new engine? http://www.crydev.net/

I second that, tribes is dead.

Bovidi

  • Undead Hero
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
  • Reputation: +1/-0
    • http://www.geocities.com/mygamepage101/orc
Re: Updating RPG
« Reply #8 on: October 18, 2011 04:40 pm CDT »
Meh, I am still going for a Tribes 1.11 update.  Tribes is still, imho the best way to develop a game without spending an insane amount of time during the development.

Anyways I have been thinking and I def. need the help of "artists", just to do retexturing/updating the look.  If any of you want I can add you to a contributer and give you svn access to upload new concept art to the svn.

Bovidi

  • Undead Hero
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
  • Reputation: +1/-0
    • http://www.geocities.com/mygamepage101/orc
Re: Updating RPG
« Reply #9 on: October 18, 2011 06:28 pm CDT »
Finally got around to testing the inventory today, here is a screenshot of my guy with all the items in the game...the new inventory allows no limit to the amount of items (well besides that if you add thousands it will probably lag your server)

mega

  • Goblin Pup
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Reputation: +0/-0
Re: Updating RPG
« Reply #10 on: October 21, 2011 10:45 pm CDT »
Well, best of luck!

rjm003

  • Gnoll Fighter
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Reputation: +1/-2
Re: Updating RPG
« Reply #11 on: November 3, 2011 12:17 am CDT »
Any luck on getting the virtual item system showing up in the inventory gui yet bovidi?

Bovidi

  • Undead Hero
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
  • Reputation: +1/-0
    • http://www.geocities.com/mygamepage101/orc
Re: Updating RPG
« Reply #12 on: November 3, 2011 03:41 pm CDT »
Yea, I have the virtual items showing the inventory.  In general the inventory code is fairly complete (probably 90-95% done).  The screenshot I posted earlier actually has a "shield" category and the dragon shield in it is actually a virtual item (but it still needed to be attached to an image file to show the shield, but that means you can have multiple shields using the same image).  Right now the only thing virtual items can't do is weapons (tribes limitation) and armors (because I haven't gotten around to it yet).

rjm003

  • Gnoll Fighter
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Reputation: +1/-2
Re: Updating RPG
« Reply #13 on: November 4, 2011 03:08 pm CDT »
Weapons can be done the same way the shield is done, by sharing an image. How about adding new buttons to the gui, is that going to be possible?

Bovidi

  • Undead Hero
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
  • Reputation: +1/-0
    • http://www.geocities.com/mygamepage101/orc
Re: Updating RPG
« Reply #14 on: November 4, 2011 04:10 pm CDT »
Yea it is very achievable to add buttons, but I suck at images like buttons.  So far there are buttons Use, Info, Drop, Sell (the info is a wonky color because I copied the image from the join game gui).  If you have images of the buttons you want rj you can email me and I can add them in. (Converted to pbmp)

For anyone who wants buttons added to the inventory, you need 3 images per button.  One with the button clicked, one with the button not being clicked and one with the button disabled (greyed out).