Author Topic: New computer, first time building  (Read 23570 times)

DeinGesicht

• Gnoll Fighter
New computer, first time building
« on: August 3, 2006 06:34 pm CDT »
I'm wanting to build a computer for this next semester of school and it's my first time building a PC. It will also be used as a gaming platform, so no integrated graphics crap.

What I'm looking at is:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 (2.40 GHZ, 4 MB L2 cache); uses Socket 775 (is this the same as LGA 775?)
I'm looking at buying it from TigerDirect.com; CPU alone is $359.99; to keep the warranty, the fan and heat sink must also be from TigerDirect.com.

Fan + heat sink (from TD, as stated above)

RAM: I was thinking dual-channel DDR2 of some sort; more than 1 GB is best.

GPU: Something able to run TES IV: Oblivion at or above Xbox 360 quality; must also run TES III: Morrowind (GotY edition, specifically).

Mobo: Socket 775 (LGA 775 or whatever); supports RAID, preferably; please recommend other features and expansion slots.

Case: Obviously, something to accommodate the parts and wattage, and with room for expansion. Should also be good for airflow/cooling. Also, I'm thinking aluminum. Finally, should have two or so front USB ports and a headphone jack (?).

Monitor: 19" digital LCD. Not widescreen... I'm not spending that much on a monitor!

HDD: SATA 160-250 GB; if two of them (if financially feasible), would like to use RAID 1.

Optical media drive: Will take recommendations, but a DVD-RW drive looks good.

Keyboard/mouse: Don't need a fancy keyboard, but would like some bells and whistles. For the mouse, a gaming mouse is ideal, but I may have to go with a normal laser mouse. Recommendations?

Sound: Decent speakers, maybe headphones for quiet hours at night. Recommendations welcome. As for the card, I was thinking going the integrated path. What think you?