Particle's Custom RPG

PCRPG Development => Development => Topic started by: Bovidi on January 31, 2007 09:20 pm CST

Title: RPG Inventory
Post by: Bovidi on January 31, 2007 09:20 pm CST
Well I don't know if anyone cares but I have a slightly working Inventory system for Tribes.  It has some bugs but nothing too major I am aware of.  So I am just posting the link to all the code needed.  It is backwards compatible so if either client or server have it it won't affect either, I just don't have time to work on it anymore so if anyone else wants to they can

http://http://www.geocities.com/mygamepage101/RPG_Inv.zip
Title:
Post by: Particle on January 31, 2007 10:48 pm CST
Moved to Development, as the forum seems more appropriate than OTW.

---

Cool project
Title:
Post by: Bovidi on February 10, 2007 02:16 am CST
Sorry my bad for posting in the wrong spot.

Also my bad in that when I created the zip file I used the wrong version of the clientside version(the one posted didn't work) but I just realized what I had done now.  Anyways here is the link to the corrected version

http://http://www.geocities.com/mygamepage101/RPG_Inv_Fixed.zip
Title:
Post by: sin on February 10, 2007 08:23 am CST
Give me a breakdown on the features.
Title:
Post by: Bovidi on February 11, 2007 01:08 pm CST
Basically it is the same as the regular Tribes inventory except the fact that it uses remotes to get all the items from the server, thus bypassing the Tribes inventory counting system.  So if you were to say give 1000 clay to someone it wouldn't mess up by going -125 kind of thing but actually list the correct amount.

Also the categories are a bit different in that it uses the names as the category.

Finally the buylist has changed.  I have elimitated the 0's down the side.  Although that can be changed in the serverside code.  In the Client::newsetItemShopping you can change the %amt to whatever you want(you can dynamically set it so it shows the price or amounts of things if you wanted)
Code: [Select]
if(%amt == "")
%amt = "";


One not though is I was having a bit of problems with the buy inventory flashing when you are storing/buying an item so that would be something that would need to be fixed in the client-side part of the script.

SS
http://http://www.geocities.com/mygamepage101/Inventory.gif
Title:
Post by: Kyrie on February 11, 2007 01:29 pm CST
Ah, very nice. This doesn't address the item limit, I'd guess. Any sort of work around being attempted with that?
Title:
Post by: Bovidi on February 11, 2007 03:17 pm CST
What exactly do you mean by item limit, because I personally think there are 3 types of item limits.

1) Getting an excess of 500 items messes up tribes. This address that issue

2) There is a limit to the amount of objects that can be viewed in the inventory at one time.  This is addressed too I believe, you can have like 100 different types of items and the list will work....or at least I think it does.

3) The amount of weapons/objects that can be put in the server.  In theory the system could also be used to create more items than tribes allows but that would take more server-side code, although clicentside would stay the same.
Title:
Post by: sin on February 11, 2007 04:11 pm CST
As you know my server has something called "the belt".  The belt does a very good job dealing with the item limit that is the bane of TribesRPG.  We converted all the gems to the belt and thereby opened up all of those slots for additional armor and weapons.  The only problem with the belt is that the belt items cant affect stats.  I was recently experimenting with some armor code and realized that I could make it so  that belt items can indeed affect stats.  All that is required is coding it in itemevents.cs.  What does this mean to the TribesRPG community you ask?  It means this:

We now have the ability to go above the 200 item limit max that tribes imposes upon us.  We can rethink the way the weapon and armor systems work.  We could potentially make thousands of different items that buff individual stats.  It's a very big accomplishment as far as I'm concerned.  I've got a few bugs to work out, but I dont see that being a big issue.  Just a few tweaks and it should be working properly.
Title:
Post by: Bovidi on February 11, 2007 04:28 pm CST
See now this is where it could get interesting.  If someone fixed the buying item list flickering every time you buy and sell, then mix it with your belt system you wouldn't have to worry that the belt system is limited to what 9 items per tab but instead you could just view it in the inventory instead, right?
Title:
Post by: sin on February 11, 2007 04:58 pm CST
I made sub categories in the belt.  I figured that was the best way to do it.  I'll be on the server in 3-4 hours if you want to see how it looks.
Title:
Post by: Kyrie on February 11, 2007 05:46 pm CST
Yes, I was referring to the total number of items allowed in the game.
Title:
Post by: sin on February 11, 2007 05:48 pm CST
Quote from: "Kyrie"
Yes, I was referring to the total number of items allowed in the game.


We've pretty much got that resolved now :)
Title:
Post by: Lidge Farkley on March 4, 2007 09:15 pm CST
I love it when people put old theories in to action.